Guatemala: Let the Feast Begin

23 Aug

[series of emails sent during a month in Central America]

Antigua – quick message
(07/27/2009)

Hi All!
Just a quick message to say that I have arrived safely and threw myself on street vendors in Parque Central yesterday – yummy! Even got a whole plantain for dessert. And ice cream later…

Found a supermaket for the essentials (nuts, cookies, crackers) but NO chocolate, except for the usual US stuff — didn’t resist the peanuts M&Ms. They do have local chocolate but to make hot cocoa… I have to explore some more, but after asking my “housemate” Emily who has been here for a week, I don’t have much hope. Sigh.

The “family” is not really a family unfortunately: it’s an 87 woman and her grandson. But both are very nice, and as soon as I stop hurting their ears with Spanfrenglish I am sure they’ll like me too! Now I just get weird looks… hihihi

I have just survived four hours of Spanish and I am starving! The “team” is organizing a birthday party this afternoon for the coordinator of the program, Edwin. Can’t wait to taste the cake! Has to be better than the sugary stuff in the US, but I’m worried it might not include chocolate. Sigh.

Cuidate mucho y besos
Janique

5 Responses to “Guatemala: Let the Feast Begin”

  1. Emily He 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I am SO VERY glad you chronicled this adventure. I have photos to go with it (which I will email to you in bulk over the next few days, if you want). You brought back so many good memories and had me drooling at k’akik (right, however you spell it) and then more at pepian.

    You forgot to mention something about the caves: bats pooping (minerals, healthy poop) on our heads and shoulders.

    I can’t believe we almost lost you in Semuc Champey! Whoever thought it was a good idea for a touring company to put their customers at risk must pay a lot of insurance for liability! I do believe this is one of the most adventurous trips I have ever taken. And I still can’t believe it happened.

    Let me know if you want those photos!!!

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Sure, I do need to insert some photos in that blog. I have a few that you had tagged with my name on FB but I was in a bathing suit and there is no way I am putting them on-line!

      Semuc Champey was probably the craziest thing I have ever done! From the ridiculously long bus ride to the rappelling. Indeed, I should have said something about exploring caves in candle light… and falling bat poop!

  2. Emily He 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Aw Janique I was your “partner in chocolate crime”!! I just jumped up and down reading those words! You’re right though, it was definitely good to have a fellow foodie around since Maria Julia fed us too many veggies (I’m sure Oscar did all the food shopping). I wonder why Oscar disliked us so much? What did we do to deserve the disrespect? Was it because I hung my underwear to dry in the window that one day? What was he doing snooping around in our quarters anyway?

    I’m off to dinner now, but I can’t wait to read alllll of your Guatemala posts!!!

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Yes, he never warmed up to us. We were super cute and nice! But he was a strange guy… strange strange.

      It took them a while to realize that we were not made of the same stuff as the other students: we wanted local food, even beans! We were eating 5 meals a day and adding chocolate breaks 🙂

      Also I was totally sleep deprived because of the rooster I was planning to roast!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home « Traveling Tastebuds - 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011

    […] you may wonder where I met Emily. Well, we shared a home in Antigua, Guatemala in July-August 2009. We went to the same school, and bonded over street food. I dragged her into my […]

Leave a Reply

