Speaking of Home – Some Photos of Vanuatu

19 Feb

Come with me from home in George Pompidou to the office. Bring your sunglasses!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Responses to “Speaking of Home – Some Photos of Vanuatu”

  1. Bob Klugh 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 2:17 am #

    hi Janique…..just to say I enjoyed the pics….like to see more….

    Bob K.

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Thanks, Bob! I will post more and borrow my friend’s camera again to take better ones!

  2. Emily He 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Wow, I can’t believe you’re living there! Well, actually, yes I can. At first I was surprised to see Chinese people, but then I remembered they go anywhere and everywhere they can find jobs. Perhaps I should fly down there and visit you one of these days……

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Oh the tension is growing against Chinese people. Lately it was learned that people “sell” the Vanuatu citizenship in China to attract investments. We even have a Chinatown… but the Chinese shops/restaurants are everywhere. Of course, a lot of construction workers as well.
      The thing is here they call Chinese anyone who is Asian, there are a lot of Filipinos and Indians as well.

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Oh and OF COURSE you should visit me! Fly to Sydney and one more little hop to Port Vila 🙂 When I was reading your post about the Maldives it made me think of Vanuatu: white sand, turquoise water, honeymoon destination, nicknamed paradise, etc. The Maldives government is in trouble again, and things are not very “clean” here but at least it’s peaceful. They have been called the happiest people on earth twice…

  3. Emily He 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    REALLY? Happiest people on earth!?!?! Well, happiest until they step foot into Chinatown. haha! Fortunately when i was in Maldives, the religious sect hadn’t closed all the resort spas because well, if I couldn’t get my super-expensive back massage during my trip, the government would never hear the end of the wrath of Emily!

    How long will you be in Vanuatu? If for another year, perhaps I will be able to go during my next vacation!!! But perhaps not summer time because I might be teaching English in Yunnan, China!!!!!

    • janiqueracine 15 J0000002Australia/Sydney 2011 at 11:59 am #

      My contract ends in June, but my boss is pretty sure that he’ll get the funding to extend all the consultants, so that would make it at least until December, probably even into 2013.
      The “happiest” probably comes from kava… which keeps you relaxed. They always have a natural tendency to make do with what they have. Very unusual…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two Sides of Vanuatu « Travelling Tastebuds - 15 J0000006Australia/Sydney 2011

    […] 19 February 2012 – Speaking of Home […]

Leave a Reply

